Save on Tickets for all the Top ShowsCall 1-800-838-8155
The Book of Mormon - Show Tickets New York - 2

The Book of Mormon

Buy now and save
Eugene O'Neill Theater
from $91

The Book of Mormon Showtimes


Tue January 21 7:00 PM
Wed January 22 7:00 PM
Thu January 23 7:00 PM
Sun January 26 7:00 PM
Tue January 28 7:00 PM
Wed January 29 7:00 PM
Thu January 30 7:00 PM
Fri January 31 8:00 PM
Tue February 4 7:00 PM
Wed February 5 7:00 PM
Thu February 6 7:00 PM
Fri February 7 8:00 PM
Sun February 9 7:00 PM
Tue February 11 7:00 PM
Wed February 12 7:00 PM
Thu February 13 7:00 PM
Sun February 16 2:00 PM 7:00 PM
Tue February 18 7:00 PM
Wed February 19 7:00 PM
Thu February 20 7:00 PM

Overview

This rowdy Broadway musical satirizes the innocent quest of two young missionaries from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. The Book of Mormon won nine Tony Awards. The New York Time’s theater critic Ben Brantley called it "the best musical of this century." Entertainment Weekly described the show as "hilarious and humane, funny and obscene, uncompromising in production standards and unafraid of just about anything."

The Book of Mormon, currently at the Eugene O'Neill Theater in Midtown, focuses on two young missionary school graduates in receipt of their first assignment: Spend two years spreading the good word about Mormonism… in war-torn Uganda. Elder Price, a devout follower of his faith, is an excellent student quite set in his ways. Elder Cunningham, on the other hand, is awkward and clumsy, the very epitome of a nerd trying unsuccessfully to fit in. While Elder Cunningham is thrilled to be paired with such a popular and knowledgeable missionary, Elder Price is devastated to learn that he will be spending the next two years with the overweight and embarrassing Elder Cunningham. Both men are quite surprised to learn that Uganda is not the hospitable and cheerful country they had expected, but a land riddled with violence, poverty and AIDS. Cultures clash, religious ideology is spun on its head and chances are very high that you'll laugh until your sides ache, despite the political incorrectness of it all. 



Why Go?

The Book of Mormon won the 2011 Tony Award for Best Musical on Broadway, and the show continues to amaze and offend audiences six days a week in Manhattan.

Best Known For:
The Book of Mormon was produced and written by top-notch comedy masterminds, Trey Parker and Matt Stone, creators of TV series South Park. Robert Lopez, award-winning composer of Avenue Q, created the equally funny musical score. This powerhouse team uses incisive, shrewd humor to comment on religion, ethnicity and the world at large.

The Mormon Church hopes to benefit from the popularity of the show and has even taken ads out with the slugline “the book is better.”



Additional Information

RUN TIME
Two hours and 30 minutes (one intermission)



Address

Location
230 W 49th St
New York, NY 10019