Save on Tickets for all the Top ShowsCall 1-800-838-8155
King Lear - New York

King Lear

Glenda Jackson Returns to Broadway
Cort Theatre
from $192

King Lear Showtimes


Sat April 20 1:00 PM 7:00 PM
Sun April 21 2:00 PM
Tue April 23 7:00 PM
Wed April 24 1:00 PM 7:00 PM
Thu April 25 7:00 PM
Fri April 26 7:00 PM
Sat April 27 1:00 PM 7:00 PM
Sun April 28 2:00 PM
Tue April 30 7:00 PM
Wed May 1 1:00 PM 7:00 PM
Thu May 2 7:00 PM
Fri May 3 7:00 PM
Sat May 4 1:00 PM 7:00 PM
Sun May 5 2:00 PM
Tue May 7 7:00 PM
Wed May 8 1:00 PM 7:00 PM
Thu May 9 7:00 PM
Fri May 10 7:00 PM
Sat May 11 1:00 PM 7:00 PM
Sun May 12 2:00 PM

Overview

Tony, Emmy, and Two-time Oscar winner Glenda Jackson takes on Shakespeare’s most challenging role in a daring and innovative production of King Lear for a strictly limited 19-week run. Jackson returned to Broadway last season after an absence of three decades in Edward Albee’s Three Tall Women. Now she tops that triumph to play the Bard’s mad monarch driven to rage by the machinations of evil daughters as the kingdom is split apart. Tony winner Sam Gold (A Dolls House Part 2, Fun Home) directs this new staging with an all-star cast including Tony winner Jayne Houdyshell (The Humans), Elizabeth Marvel (Other Desert Cities), Aisling O’Sullivan (Raw), Pedro Pascal (Game of Thrones), Obie winner John Douglas Thompson (Jitney), and Golden Globe winner Ruth Wilson (The Affair). Legendary composer Philip Glass provides an original score. See Glenda Jackson, “the greatest actress alive” (The Guardian), in what is sure to be her most memorable role.



Why Go?

A once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to see one of the world’s greatest actresses creating history in one of the most coveted roles in theater history. This is a strictly limited run of a production sure to be talked about for years to come.

Best Known for:
King Lear is the role all great actors aspire to. Glenda Jackson will be the first woman to play it on Broadway. (Ruth Maleczech starred in a contemporary adaptation Off-Broadway in 1990.) This is the 20th production of the play on Broadway. Stars to take on the role on and Off-Broadway have included Derek Jacobi, Frank Langella, Ian McKellan, Sam Waterston, Kevin Kline, Christopher Plummer, Brian Cox, and James Earl Jones. Anthony Hopkins, Laurence Olivier, and Orson Welles headlined acclaimed television versions.



Additional Information

Schedule:
TBA

Show Duration:
TBA

Age Restrictions:
Recommended for 12 +
Children under the age of 4 are not permitted in the theatre.

 



Location

Location
138 W 48th Street
New York, NY 10036