Save on Tickets for all the Top ShowsCall 1-800-838-8155
Wicked - New York - 5

Wicked

Defy Gravity - Buy Now
Gershwin Theatre 
from $99

Wicked Showtimes


Tue September 8 7:00 PM
Wed September 9 7:00 PM
Thu September 10 7:00 PM
Fri September 11 8:00 PM
Sat September 12 2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun September 13 2:00 PM 7:00 PM
Tue September 15 7:00 PM
Wed September 16 7:00 PM
Thu September 17 7:00 PM
Fri September 18 8:00 PM
Sat September 19 2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun September 20 2:00 PM 7:00 PM
Tue September 22 7:00 PM
Wed September 23 7:00 PM
Thu September 24 7:00 PM
Fri September 25 8:00 PM
Sat September 26 2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun September 27 2:00 PM 7:00 PM
Tue September 29 7:00 PM
Wed September 30 7:00 PM

Overview

So much happened before Dorothy dropped into Oz. Wicked uncovers that story.

Based on the popular 1995 novel by Gregory Maguire, Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West, this beloved American musical delves into the backstory of two witches, Glinda the Good Witch and the Wicked Witch of the West. The musical begs the question: How did these two transform from squabbling schoolgirls of Oz into the fiercest witches in the land?

Over the course of the show, Elphaba and Glinda evolve from foes to friends. Follow as these mystical women engage in lively verbal squabbles and "political innuendo and outuendo," battle over the dashing prince Fiyero, and fly off to the Emerald City to see the Wonderful Wizard of Oz – who, mysteriously, may not be as wonderful a wizard as once thought.

Featuring a score by Stephen Schwartz (Pippin, Godspell), with beloved songs like "Defying Gravity" and "Popular," and direction by Tony Award winner Joe Mantello (Take Me Out, Assassins, Glengarry Glen Ross), Wicked is a mega-hit that has audiences returning again and again. 



Why Go?

This Broadway sensation has been mesmerizing audiences for over a decade with the story of a girl, born with emerald-green skin, who is smart, fiery, misunderstood and possesses one extraordinary talent.

Best Known For:
Rivaling the story is the impressive set, designed by Tony Award-winner Eugene Lee, which is constructed out of the whirring machinery of a giant clock and presided over by a flashing-eyed dragon. The costumes and makeup are also eye-catching, and Elphaba’s green skin is a memorable metaphor; in the same way that the characters learn to start "looking at things in a different way," so does the audience with Elphaba’s green sheen.

Legendary Broadway starlet, Idina Menzel of Frozen fame, won a Tony Award for her origination of the Wicked Witch of the West, Elphaba.

Reviews: 
“A cultural phenomenon” - Variety
“Wicked casts quite a spell. A monster hit.” - Washington Post 
“The best musical of the decade!” - Entertainment Weekly 
“Wicked is a triumph!” - USA Today 
“Emerald City never had it so good.” - New York Post



Additional Information

WICKED ESTIMATED RUN TIME
2 hours and 45 minutes, including one 15 minute intermission

AGE REQUIREMENT
Recommended age for children is 8 and up. The Gershwin Theatre welcomes patrons ages 5 and older. As a courtesy to our guests, children under the age of 5 will not be permitted in the theatre. Please be aware that all patrons, regardless of age, must have a ticket.

OTHER INFO
Wheelchair seating is available. 
An assisted listening system is available.  
An audio description is available for guests who are blind or partially sighted.



Address

Location
222 West 51Street Street
New York, NY 10019